Our Attorneys

Julia A. Murphy



Download v-Card






Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago-Kent College of Law, Chicago, Illinois (J.D., 2005)
CALI Award, Civil Litigation - Legal Writing IV, 2003
CALI Award, Trial Advocacy, 2004
Illinois Wesleyan University, Bloomington, Illinois (B.A., 2002)

Admitted To Practice:

Supreme Court of the State of Illinois, 2005
U.S. Supreme Court, 2009


Partner, Ganan & Shapiro, P.C., Chicago, Illinois, 2005
Law Clerk, Ganan & Shapiro, P.C., Chicago, Illinois, 2003-2005
Research Assistant, Institute for Science, Law & Technology, Chicago-Kent College of Law,

Professional Affiliation:

Illinois State Bar Association
Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Association

Guest Lecturer:

"Back to Basics: Workers’ Compensation 101"

Ganan & Shapiro, P.C., April 2012

"Hitting a Grand Slam: How to Make Workers’ Compensation Reform 2011 Work for Your Organization"

Ganan & Shapiro, P.C., Fall 2011

“Workers’ Compensation Jurisdictional Training”,

Compass Group & Gallagher Bassett Services, Illinois, 2010

“Utilization Review in Illinois Three Years Later”

Ganan & Shapiro, 2009


“New Carpeting Trips Up The Defense,” Workers’ Compensation Law, ISBA Newsletter, June

Julia A. Murphy

Julia A. Murphy is a Partner in Ganan & Shapiro’s Chicago office. Ms. Murphy defends businesses at arbitration, before the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission, Circuit and Appellate Court. Ms. Murphy currently handles cases in the Chicago and Waukegan, Illinois venues.

Ms. Murphy has served as a guest lecturer for many seminars related to the practice of workers’ compensation defense.  Additionally, Ms. Murphy is a member of the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Association and the Illinois State Bar Association. Prior to becoming an attorney with the firm, Ms. Murphy served as a law clerk from 2003 through 2005.

Ms. Murphy earned her J.D., from Chicago-Kent College of Law in 2005. Ms. Murphy received the CALI award for civil litigation, as well as trial advocacy.  Ms. Murphy graduated from Illinois Wesleyan University in 2002.